2 years ago ·
by Admin ·
Comments Off on Safe Driving tips
1. Before beginning a long drive, always get enough sleep and eat a snack or meal. Highly caffeinated beverages are not necessarily the best way to stay awake while driving. While initially you will feel more alert, the effects can recede with time, and your attention may wander although you remain awake.
2. Pull over and take breaks every couple of hours, even if you don’t feel sleepy. Grab a snack, get some fresh air and stretch your legs by walking around. If you need to, take a quick nap.
3. If you can, share the driving responsibilities with someone else. This will allow you to keep an eye on each other while driving and also enable you to nap without losing time. If you’re driving alone, turn on the radio or put on some music, and keep your window cracked open. You may want to refrain from using your cruise control if you’re driving alone at night — having to concentrate on maintaining your speed can help you stay awake.
4. If you do have to pull over, move your vehicle off the road. Never park on the shoulder or in the breakdown lane for any reason except an emergency.
5. Know the laws along your route concerning cell phone use while driving. While it may be legal in one place, it may be illegal in another, and ignorance is not typically an acceptable excuse for a violation. Here’s a handy chart of cell phone laws by country and U.S. state (keep in mind that this information can change at any time). However, even if it’s legal to talk on a cell phone where you’re going, it’s usually safest to use a hands-free device.
2 years ago ·
by Admin ·
The New Jersey Lemon Law is a powerful state law which permits the consumer of a defective car to obtain a full refund of the purchase price, or new car replacement should the manufacturer fail to repair a nonconformity (defect or condition which substantially impairs the use, value of safety) within a reasonable number of attempts as defined in the lemon law. The New Jersey lemon law act further provides for payment of all legal fees and costs by the manufacturer should the consumer prevail under the act.
If you are aggravated enough to be reading this you may have a lemon and may be entitled to a settlement under the lemon law and/or federal warranty act. Our firm has represented thousands of consumers throughout New Jersey and we have been successful in obtaining lemon law and breach of warranty relief for many clients. Please call us at 1-800-MY-LEMON
(1-800-695-3666) to learn more about your rights, and how we can assist you in your lemon law and/or breach of warranty claim, or complete our free case evaluation.. There’s no fee or cost to you for our service.
What if I Start having Problems After the NJ Lemon Law year/mileage limitation?
You may still be entitled to compensation. There are other laws which govern warranties which may be used to assist you, including Federal Warranty Act, also known as the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act and the Uniform Commercial Code. David J. Gorberg & Associates currently represents a great number of individuals whose vehicles did not start having problems during the lemon law year/mileage limitation.
Getting Your Vehicle Fixed
Always report defects directly to the manufacturer or the dealer as soon as you discover them. One of the best favors you can do for yourself is to keep good records of your interaction with the dealership or manufacturer and keep all of your receipts. Always get a dated and detailed print out when you take the vehicle in to get it fixed. It should include any charges for parts and labor, a general description of the problem, the odometer reading at the time you brought the vehicle in for repair and also when you pick up the car, as well as a list of all work performed. It should also state the date the vehicle was brought in for repair and the date you picked up the car. Insist on receiving these statements (it’s your right under the law). Store them somewhere safe.
Most manufacturers’ warranties cover repairs for at least the first year after it is delivered or during the first 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. If your warranty ends and you still need repairs, you probably have to pay for them. However, you may be able to recover these costs if your vehicle is later proven to be a lemon. This is why it is so important to keep your receipts when you go in for repairs. For leased vehicles, the leasing contract will indicate who is responsible for such repair costs.
Number of Repair Attempts
The New Jersey Lemon Law permits the manufacturer, though it’s authorized dealer a reasonable number of attempts, during the lemon law period, to repair a nonconformity.